Progression of a painting, “Romantic Reflections”

There is just something uniquely wonderful about applying the first color laden brush stroke to a clean white canvas. Today I started a new painting and thought I would document a few of the steps it takes me to arrive at the end result. For me every painting is a learning experience built on the foundation of previous work, trial and error.  Just like life… learning, changing, adjusting… As art reveals a creator; so too, this world reveals One Master designer, the Creator of the heavens and the earth, the Maker and sustainer of all things! We are His Masterpiece! He made us, loves us, and wants us! He knows everything about us and beckons us to come follow Him. When we turn to Jesus Christ in faith and let Him work “all things together for good” (Romans 8:28) even the dark times and the struggle work in us to create a richer beauty and glory that is distinctly His fingerprint! Isn’t He something! Has that been your experience?

This particular painting should take approximately 4-6 weeks to complete. I will update this blog post with pictures at least once a week to give you an idea of how it’s going! This painting and others will be for sale at Freeburg Pianos in Hendersonville, NC; prints and greeting cards are also available at Fine Art America: http://fineartamerica.com/art/all/ann+holder/all

So here goes! I chose this subject because of the interesting lines and reflections in the wine glass, the artistic qualities of the composition, and I JUST LOVED the piano keyboard reflection!  Royalties for this were purchased from “Dreamstime.com.” A few weeks ago I prepared a canvas using stretcher bars, artist canvas, and gesso. My finished canvas is 24 X 30. I am using Windsor and Newton Oil paints mixed with a solution of odorless turpentine and linseed oil. Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:  Things are coming along great with this painting! A lot more room for expression than some of my previous works. Typically I spend 6-8 weeks on a painting, but then I bog down on detail. Notice the black shape at the top of the label? Yeah, I don’t know what it is either. I may leave it as is, or paint over it to complete the label. What do you think?

Step 4: I made some slight adjustments today: made the glass a little narrower at the top, repositioned the piano reflection, some work on the label, reapplied black in some areas to make the rest of it “pop!”, brought the tan reflection in the glass down a bit, touched up a few other places… it’s getting there! I will focus on the keys next week, and then I’ll be close to having it done! Yay, God, for the joy in seeing this project develop! By the way, I decided to keep the black thing on the label, judging from the reflection in the wine glass, it almost looks like something that rests on the wine bottle itself- like a holder of some type? Any ideas?

Update:  It’s FINISHED!

IMG_6901
24 X 30 Oil on Canvas

Romantic Reflections by Ann Holder Please contact me directly if you are interested in purchasing the original. This is a one of a kind, heirloom, piece. Price is $8600 US.

Leave a Reply

